Board of Governors
Clubhouse Layouts
Contact Us
Dress Code
Hall of Fame
MAC Hermann Trophy
Jack Buck Awards
Privacy Policy

 2013 Honorees

44th Annual Jack Buck Sports Awards

The 2013 MAC Jack Buck Sports Awards, presented by Maryville University and held on Dec. 11, 2013, honored a distinguished group of local sports figures. Click here for photos from the event.

Sports Personality of the Year - Matt Carpenter

In his breakout season with the St. Louis Cardinals, Matt Carpenter emerged as baseball's top leadoff hitter and led major league baseball in hits, runs, doubles and multi-hit games, as well as breaking Stan Musial's team record for most doubles in a season by a left-handed hitter. 


Stan the Man Award - Chris Carpenter

Chris Carpenter

St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Chris Carpenter, who recently announced his retirement, was recognized with the inaugural Stan the Man Award. The award honors the memory of long-time MAC member Stan Musial by recognizing an individual who has demonstrated by example exceptional leadership skills. The 2005 Cy Young Award recipient delivered countless clutch performances during his Cardinals career and served as a mentor to the team's young pitchers.

Jack Buck Award - Aeneas Williams

Former St. Louis Rams cornerback Aeneas Williams received the Jack Buck Award in recognition for his All-Pro career and for the positive impact he is making in the St. Louis community since his retirement. During his 14-year career, he made eight Pro Bowl appearances, was a four-time First Team All-Pro and was a part of the 2001 NFC Championship Team. In 2007, he and his wife started a ministry of their own at The Spirit Church.

Legends Award - Chris Pronger

Chris ProngerFormer St. Louis Blues star Chris Pronger was honored with the Legends Award for his contributions on and off the ice during his career. Pronger appeared in the Stanley Cup finals with three different teams and won the Hart Trophy for the league's most valuable player.  


Carl O. Bauer Award - Jim Crews & Dwayne Evans

Saint Louis University men's basketball coach Jim Crews and his star forward Dwayne Evans received the Carl O. Bauer Award, recognizing the top amateur sports figures. The Billikens earned a trip to the 2013 NCAA Tournament and a Top 20 national ranking. Crews has been recognized with national coach of the year awards from the Sporting News and the National Association of Basketball Coaches, and in his junior year with the Billikens, Evans led the team in scoring and rebounding and was selected first-team All-Conference.

Burnes-Broeg Award - Bill McDermott

Bill McDermottBill McDermott was honored with the Burnes/Broeg Award in recognition of his years spent promoting St. Louis through sports. "Mr. Soccer" is the sport's longest-running active broadcaster, having covered the game for more than four decades. He was inducted into the St. Louis Soccer Hall of Fame in 2002.


Hometown Hero Award - Tom O'Toole, Jr.

Tom O'Toole Jr.St. Louis native Tom O'Toole, Jr. received the Hometown Hero Award. O'Toole has served for 25 years as a Rules official at the U.S. Open and 125 other golf championships. He was recently nominated as president of the U.S. Golf Association.


Jim Wilson

View Past Recipients